Being Thankful

As I sit here this evening putting together the Easter baskets for my sleeping children, I am reminded of the many blessings that God has bestowed upon me and my family.  I’m not one to push my religion onto someone else or to say that  one religion is better than another.  God speaks to us in many ways and can take different forms.  But with all of the headlines in the news lately coming from my state, I keep thinking that it shouldn’t matter what one’s sexuality is or what you believe.  We are ALL created in His image.  God loves each of us and he has told us to love our neighbors. His message doesn’t say to not love them because they think differently than we do or because they were born in a different country than we were.  He said to love them.  Plain and simple as that.

If you know me, you’ll know that I have family and friends that are homosexual.  I also have family of mixed race, which was taboo not even 40 years ago.  As children we were taught to be understanding and to accept people for who they are and what their character says about them, not by their sexuality, race,  or economic standings in the community.  The understood rule in our home was to not judge others, that was God’s job on judgment day.  I’m thankful for these strong bonds I have with my family and friends, of all walks of life.  Life would be boring if we were all cut from the same cookie cutter.  🙂   Embrace the different flavors or life and learn something new everyday and be thankful for the blessings God has bestowed upon you.

Happy Easter!  He has risen!

AC

Leave a Reply

